Whois Privacy Protection, at times also referred to as Privacy or Whois Privacy Protection, is a service that hides the actual contact information of domain name owners on WHOIS websites. Without this service, the personal name, postal address and email account of any domain registrant will be publicly visible. Providing fake information during the domain name registration procedure or altering the genuine details subsequently will simply not work, as doing such a thing may result in the domain registrant losing his/her ownership of the domain name. The policies approved by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), require that the WHOIS info must be correct and accurate at all times. The Whois Privacy Protection service was introduced by domain registrars as a response to the arising concerns about possible identity theft. If the protection service is active, the domain name registrar’s contact details will appear instead of the client’s upon a WHOIS check. Most domain names support the Whois Privacy Protection service, although there are some country-code ones that do not.

Whois Privacy Protection in Cloud Hosting

You can quickly activate Whois Privacy Protection for any domain that you’ve registered with our company in case you’ve got a cloud hosting account with us. This can be achieved through the exact same Hepsia Control Panel, via which you administer the web hosting account itself, so you will not need to log in and out of different interfaces. In the same section where all your active domain names will be listed, there will be an “Whois Privacy Protection” icon for each and every domain name whose extension supports the service. The status of that icon will quickly let you know if the Whois Privacy Protection service is enabled for a particular domain name or not and by clicking on that icon you can enable the service in case you haven’t done so during the registration process. Moreover, you’ll also be able to renew or to disable the Whois Privacy Protection service for any domain using that same icon and the change will take effect momentarily.